Every once in a while I am asked to write about myself, and the work that I do, and I’ve always had a hard time doing it since I can never sit still long enough to type down my thoughts in detail. And then it finally clicked in my head what my mother told me after I got my first bachelor’s degree over a decade ago that I have the symptoms for ADD. I said gee, thanks, but that’s a bit late now! No wonder my ex-gf used to tell me all the time – BUT YOU DON’T LISTEN. No shi- sherlock.

Anyway, I never really thought about what exactly are the symptoms, and now it got me curious… so I did some googlin’ and ran into a bunch of info, and I think it’s a big possibility that I fall into the Inattentive ADD Category…

Inattention ADD Symptoms of Attention Deficit Disorder:

  • Often fails to give close attention to details.
  • Often makes careless mistakes in schoolwork, work, or other activities.
  • Often has difficulty sustaining attention in tasks or play activities. CHECK.
  • Often becomes easily distracted by irrelevant sights, sounds and extraneous stimuli. HA HA – CHECK
  • Often does not follow through on instructions and fails to finish schoolwork, chores, or duties in the workplace.
  • Often has difficulty organizing tasks and activities. CHECK
  • Often avoids tasks, such as schoolwork or homework, that require sustained mental effort. CHECK
  • Often loses things necessary for tasks or activities, like school assignments, pencils, books, or tools. CHECK
  • Often is forgetful in daily activities. CHECK – I always make a list
  • Rarely follows instructions carefully and completely. NO PICTURES? Fuhgeddaboudit!
  • Often does not seem to listen when spoken to directly. What? -CHECK

Based on my uneducated self-diagnosis, I definitely have at least 8 of the 13 symptoms… YAY MOM.  Mother knows best!

I actually did very well in art school. Instead of treating my short attention span as a crutch, I used it to my advantage by being able to work on a whole bunch of things. When my focus starts to fade, I would stop working on one project and move on to focus on a different project.

