I’m not dead! Just busy being a Dad to a toddler who survived PK3 and PK4, Feeding Therapy, hospitalization, surgery, week long stay at home being sick once or twice a month – just crazy busy tired…

I had no intention of having a child… but when my wife asked me if we can, I was hesitant but I said, sure. The moment I agreed, I was all in – no turning back, no regrets, off to new adventures! Yeah!

She wanted a girl because she can dress her up, I wanted a boy because I didn’t want the drama and be the crazy dad who thinks no boy is good enough for my little girl. I got the boy (yay) but somebody up there had a wicked sense of humor and gave us all the drama from the moment my wife got pregnant. Nine months then five years later, here we are.

He is the tiniest boy in his class! His best bud is taller than him by at least a head. By weight and height — he wasn’t even on the charts at one time, now he’s barely on the chart.

But he is awesome! He is a pain in my ass, but he’s got a mind of his own. The boy will talk to anyone, can read people very well, and is a real charmer. He likes pretty girls, and pretty ladies – all colors of the rainbow. He likes reading, making up his own games and stories, illustrating his own “comic book” (the story makes perfectly good sense to him).

He said he wanted to be an art teacher… I told him that it will not financially support his extravagant lifestyle… He said he doesn’t want to drive, so he will have a self-driving car that can bring him to the mall… I told him not with an art teacher’s salary…

2015 was a slow art making year for me (I did draw a Turkey for my boy’s class for thanksgiving) and the first half of 2016 was just as bad (but I did make a kick-ass 3D topography of Australia out of corrugated cardboard for their “trip around the world”)

Last year I joined Bergen Makerspace and took a course in 3D printing, hoping to find a solution to my pill art making (make my work more consistent and to speed up my creation process/ manufacture). I even bought a 3D printer, designed and built a ventilated cabinet for it, with the exhaust coming out of the window…  With the 3D printer I made toys for my son, designed and printed 3M type hooks, a wall mount for a Mac Mini, remote control mounts, a pen holder bookend, built a humidifier that is easy to take a part and clean thoroughly (and can hold enough water to run continuously at full blast for almost a week), a paper towel holder built into a wire rack shelving, and a cabinet in-door spice rack shelving. In the end,  3D printing isn’t the solution for my art – too slow to produce anything substantial (for my artwork conundrum) but a lot of fun, albeit super duper slow, it was great for making other stuff.

Perhaps it wasn’t completely barren, I just didn’t post any of my product designs… but still, not that much work to show for…

This summer I took a laser cutting and laser etching class at The MakerDepot. Since I don’t have 24G’s  lying around to procure a quality Laser cutter and engraver for myself, I joined the hive instead. The monthly pay-per-play can be a little steep, so I’ll need to figure out a way to make some cash to offset the cost of my membership…

So far, I think I might have found a solution to my pill art process, but the solution comes with its own unintended consequence, and my work might lose it’s impact so NOT COOL. I’m looking into a second possible solution, but this solution will only address consistency and quality, but it will not speed up the process… arrgh!

Anyway, Cheers! I’m back, and will be posting new work very soon!

