alejo-dea-aveta-1

I started painting this right before grad school, and I probably continued to tweak this for a couple of years, so from 2001-2002. It’s still one of my favorites, and I learned a lot from painting this.

During my undergrad years in the mid 90s at Saint Peter’s College (now St. Peter’s University) in Jersey City, I took a live model figure drawing class with a wonderful Jesuit Priest and artist – Fr. Oscar Magnan… My friend Mary insisted I take the class, and since I needed an art elective, it was better than another art history class (sorry Professor Greene). Anyway, years later I stopped by to say hello to Fr. Magnan and I ended up doing some design work for him, and traded them for some valuable art critique and insight. He got me started with painting on wood instead of canvas, and learned about encaustic painting as well.

This was one of my first paintings on 3/4″ plywood. Plywood have a few pros: rigid, so less chance of cracking, easier to store and easier to mail/move. Since I did mostly drawing and drafting for a very long time, I liked working on a smooth flat surface, and the flexibility and texture of stretched canvas was disconcerting to me. It wasn’t until 2009 when I actually did a series of paintings on canvas.

Save

Save

